Scottsville Cemetery – Karnack, Texas

The Scottsville Cemetery is four miles east of Marshall, Harrison County, Texas and is filled with wonderful, artistic old funeral monuments.   A very unique cemetary nestled deep in the Piney Woods of Northeast Texas, just outside of Marshall in a very small town of just over 200 – Scottsville, Texas, down a long, narrow road in the woods, far away from everything. Very beautiful, quiet and peaceful with so many historic monuments, mosty of which are several hundred years old.  I just learned that this is the oldest cemetary in Texas starting before Texas was even a state!

The Weeping Angel statue was vandalized (twice, in fact). The first time the vandals left the hand and it was repaired.In the 1990’s vandals again broke off hand -taking it with them.  The adjoining cemetery was created at the same time as our family one-originally used for slave burials.

The church at the cemetery was erected by the family of William Scott Youree after he was killed in Mexico in 1904. The weeping angel that marks his grave has become a popular regional photographic subject.

My cousin, Teri suggested us to visit the Scottsville Cemetery and, it was well worth the trip. It’s a well kept landscape, very historical. You could get lost for hours looking at all the beautifully carved statues, and reading all the wonderfully loving inscriptions. The church inside the grounds is also an amazing piece of architecture. It’s definitely worth a walk through.

 

I am looking forward to going back again and see more of the area’s attractions.

 

 

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in All About Austin Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

