The Old Harrison County Courthouse

The Old Harrison County Courthouse is located in the center of Whetstone Square in Marshall, Texas  and is one of the most famous and admired buildings in Texas. It is the signature landmark of Marshall and is frequently used to represent East Texas in travel literature.

The Old Courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  From 1964 until 2000 the building housed the Harrison County Historical Museum. The building is noted as being the location of the first sit-ins in Texas.

The building’s dome is its most distinctive feature and stands above a four-level rotunda. The rotunda is crowned by a  false dome. Between the coffered dome and the outer dome are the workings of four-faced clock, that has been recently restored. The windows are aligned to feed light through stained glass  insets in the coffered dome hanging over the rotunda.  Eagle statues are perched wherever two sides of six-sided balustrade meet. The outer dome rise in from the cornice, which if viewed from above would appear as a circle inside a hexagon. The north, south, east, and west side of the outer dome are interrupted by clock faces, which maintain a vertical position even as the outer dome curves backwards. A false belfry , reminiscent of the lantern on top of the  building, is located on top of the outer dome. On the top of the belfry is a 6-foot-tall (1.8 m) statue of Lady Justitia, which has the typical features of any Lady Justice: a blindfold, scales,  and raised sword; as well as the rather a typical feature of a set of wings.

I gave it a 360 runaround, just the heck out of it, to let you see what it looks like on the bricked road. Oh, I love bricked roads.  I remember when I was between one to three years old, riding on the back of my grandpa’s car, he came to pick up my aunt Gina from work at nights in the downtown Marshall.  I tried to stay awake, but failed every time, bonking to sleep when he drove in circles around the courthouse.  When I stopped by, it surely brings me a smile remembering that memory.  

Ok. I had to stop driving around, already twice, and the cop with a scowl in his 50’s,  inside his car already parked across the street,  was watching me like I was crazy or something.  I left, of course, with a smile on my face.  What a ride with the window open, my hand with the camera facing the courthouse! Fun, fun, yep, fun!

Sorry the video is really shaken up, thanks to the uneven bricked road. 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Marshall, Texas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

