Washington Square, Historic Downtown Marshall, Texas

The Weisman is a one-of-a-kind marketplace located in the Washington Square District of historic downtown Marshall, TX. Gifts and goodies tempt in historic downtown Marshall. Its collection of shops, mainly in restored storefronts, are 100 percent locally owned with knowledgeable merchants ready to answer even the most obscure questions. Downtown Marshall is the quintessential Main Street of 100 years ago.

Law Center, OS Bar 

The Unique Boutique

Mrs. Santa’s Kitchen, Santa Workshop

Joe Weisman & Company was the first department store in Texas.  It opened in the late 19th century. The building now houses the Weisman Center which is a Retail Cooperative based on an open mall concept.

Every time I visit the Washington Square, I always find myself mesmerizing there, remembering some old memories when I was little.   My grandpa used to take me in the back of his car, on the way to pick my Aunt Gina up from work at the Washington Square.  He used to go around the courthouse on the brick road, putting me to sleep without fail.   I see the buildings, how I love these unique, old stores still alive and its warmth to people; however I see some deli shops, coffee shops these days now.

North Washington Ave.

Visit our historic museums, experience a night under the stars at an outdoor concert, or stroll the myriad of shops.

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Marshall, Texas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

