VW Slug Bug Ranch – Conway, Texas

March 9, 2013 – around 7ish in the morning 

While I was driving from Groom, Texas on I-40, still raining outside,  I had to take a picture still on the road.  It’s not really dramatic but it was a little dark, the clouds were still “crawling” around the sky, the barn mill on the left side, and the lone car with lights on was coming eastbound.  I knew right there I would make it look great.  I had to.  IMG_0058-Edit-Edit-Edit-Edit-Edit-Edit

Dark before Sunrise

 Finally, I reached Conway. I took the exit 96, northeast corner off I-40.  I was not sure where the VW Slug Bug Ranch was located at.  I went to the Love’s Travel Stop station to ask the cashier. The old chippy man chuckled, his face sort of looking at me like “damn she’s a really dumb blonde”.  I didn’t give a damn about it. I was dog tired.  His old crooked finger pointed to the left, to the overpass bridge and said slowly to my surprise that I could read his lips,  “you wouldn’t miss it for the world.” I smiled back and went on my way without saying thanks after I bought some drinks.  I went to the overpass bridge. I saw the ranch and thought, “ah, it was easy, dang!” It was just across the interstate. I guess I lost my focus then.  The rain stopped and I could see the storm beginning to leave. The place was really abandoned completely. It was so damn windy and cold with possibly 40 degrees that time. Click, click and click…I wish I had some more time to take some good shots but I was not in the mood to stay out any longer. My hands froze. My nose froze.  My ears froze.   I wanted a shot of the buggies with the big sign but it was very, very muddy to my disappointment. My right shoe sunk about one inch deeper through mud and I couldn’t go far.  I tried some angles to catch a perfect shot. Some fails, some successes.   

IMG_0062-EditIMG_0066_HDR IMG_0072_3_4-Edit IMG_0114_5_6-Edit IMG_0093_HDR-Edit IMG_0084_5_6 IMG_0063-EditIMG_0075_6_7-Edit

Five Volkswagen Beetles buried nose down in the ground, in an obvious tribute to the nearby Cadillac Ranch.

Before I went off, I took the time lapse selfie, just  havin’ fun.  Then the idea popped in my mind, I would continue taking some time lapse selfies from now on, different places, something different.  

I drove back to Love’s Travel stop station to water-spray the damn mud off my shoe by paying 75 cents to the air/water pump.  I was about to be ready to go.  The very same guy who gave me some directions to the destination I looked for, walked towards me then he gave me back 75 cents.  I looked at him, he smiled kinda goofy and I finally said my thanks.   I still don’t know why the guy really bothered to come and give me some coins.   I even smiled at him.  I liked him.  I hopped in my car, with the shoe looking so clean and yeah, still wet. 

Back on the road, for the Cadillac Ranch.  It would take me there about 30-45 minutes.  

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

