Giant Pair of Legs – Amarillo, Texas

March 9, 201310:15 am

The next stop was to see the Giant Pair of Legs not far from the Cadillac Ranch that I visited earlier.  I think it took me about 10 minutes to drive to the destination.  You wouldn’t miss the sight of  “the lovely legs”  attraction.  It was there as clear and loud as the big pair of legs were.  I hear that there is always a different pattern of decorating on the pair of legs like the gym socks, purple socks and they now more resemble the Cadillac Ranch when I stopped by.  

You have to jump over or crawl through the barbed fence and, beware, if you are scared of cows because they definitely give you the “stink eye” when you set “foot” on their turf! The cows happened to stand that far from where I took some pictures so I was a lucky gal. The grounds were so muddy and I had to hop in and out trying not to get my shoe sink under again like I did it in VW Slug Bug Ranch.  However, the sky became so blue, yet very windy and cold.

The artist is Artist Lightnin McDuff who created the sculpture. I couldn’t find anything more than the artist himself.   There is not much history of the pair of the legs, how it was built and when it was created.
IMG_0067-EditIMG_0058

IMG_0066-Edit

IMG_0060

IMG_0064

From Amarillo:  Take I-27, off Exit 115, go on Canyon Drive (the frontage), turn first right after under the overpass,  onto Sundown Lane, go the overpass bridge, stay on the lane. You will see the legs standing on the ground on the right side, on the corner.

From Lubbock:  Take I-27, off exit 115, turn right before the overpass bridge, that will lead you there on the corner.  You will not miss the Legs.

Off to the Tractor Ranch, I go!

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

