The Tractor Ranch – Canyon, Texas

March 9, 2013approximately at 10:45 am

Coming from visiting the Giant Pair of Legs,  a few miles away,  there is a Cadillac Ranch copy-cat installation using tractors called Combine City where farmer Orville Ladehoff half-buried or “planted” 14 combines in his field by the roadside. There’s a sign in the field that announces the place as “Combine City” and that it is — a dozen combines upended in the corner of a field. No access to the field, so unlike at Cadillac Ranch, it appears spray painters are not invited A few miles away is a Cadillac Ranch copy-cat installation using tractors called Combine City where farmer Orville Ladehoff half-buried or “planted” 14 combines in his field by the roadside. There’s a sign in the field that announces the place as “Combine City” and that it is — a dozen combines upended in the corner of a field. No access to the field, so unlike at Cadillac Ranch, it appears spray painters are not invited because we couldn’t walk up to the display due to the barbed wire fence surrounding it.

It was very cold and 61 wind gusts that day, but clear as blue, much better than in the morning, it was stormin’ the grounds of Amarillo.

IMG_0068IMG_0069 IMG_0071 IMG_0072 IMG_0073 IMG_0074 IMG_0078 IMG_0079 IMG_0080 IMG_0085 IMG_0088 IMG_0089-Edit DCIM100GOPRO

Take 27 South from Amarillo. Exit 113.  Turn left onto W. McCormick Road.  Then turn left onto FM 1541. Turn right on Claude Highway ( FM 1151)  The site is on your left 2.7 miles after intersection with Osage Road, corner of FM 1151 and South Whitaker.)

My next stop was to stay overnight camping at Palo Duro Canyon…couldn’t wait….I love camping, and I haven’t seen the canyon since 1997.  It would be a nice refreshing memory to see it again.

Signing out…..until next time!

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

