Road Trippin’ to Roswell, New Mexico

March 10, 2013

Leaving Canyon Texas on I-60 W, then entering New Mexico on I-70 W, to Roswell, Texas. The long road was flat and mediocre.  I eventually faced a few sand storms, a serious van accident and a tornado I didn’t know about! If I knew about it,  I would have picked up the speed, all excited,  for sure!

I stopped by when I saw Tex Randall standing tall across the I-60 W.  He’s been here in Canyon since 1959. Industrial arts teacher Harry Wheeler built “Texas’ Biggest Texan” to promote his Western curio shop. Tex Randall is 47 feet tall and weighs seven tons.

IMG_0192-Edit

Say hello to Tex Randall

I left satisfied with what I saw, checking off my bucket list and went on further.  It took me about 30 minutes to arrive to Hereford, still in Texas. I ate some tacos at Taco Bell, then stopped at Stripes to get a Monster, yes, it’s the energy drink.  I am gonna ignore your complaints about the Energy drink because I know the consequences. I needed the drink myself to drive through to Roswell, New Mexico.

In the midst of the trip, there was a very very bad sole auto accident somewhere on I-70 West  past Clovis, New Mexico.  I found myself looking at those thousand cows behind the fence, on the left, across the northbound interstate towards Amarillo until all of the sudden,  BAM!

IMG_0214

Thousands of cows over there on the northbound lane

It was loud.  I jumped out of my skin, slowed down and looked around.  I saw the little crack on the right side of the windshield.   Good thing it was a rental.  Then, I saw the van flipping once on the median from the left lane of the southbound interstate to Roswell. I was driving on the right lane.   I believe that the van already flipped once or twice before I saw it flip because debris were already flying all over us.  I stopped completely. I had to hop out, went to help the unfortunate. The other drivers and passengers already ran to help out too, before I arrived.  Two guys pulled some debris out of the back of the van, and the little girl climbed out.  She must be 8 years old.  She was dazed. I kneeled down and asked if she was okay.  Her mother was running to her from the front.  The mother was perfectly okay, no cuts or bleeding, grabbed her little daughter to her chest.  I got up and made some space away from them.  The older daughter was getting out, following the little sister.  The brother climbed out from the sliding door. The father walked to the back with the two or three guys behind him. The father clenched his hand onto his chest. I thought it was a heart attack.  The guy looked at me, my eyes widen open, keep looking at the father.  The guy mumbled something, then gestured that the father was hurt by hitting the steering wheel.  I went oh and then nodded in understanding what the guy meant.  The father continued to walk to the mother and the little daughter, crying.  I noticed the bleeding on the right side of her face.  The mother already held something to stop the bleeding, soothing her little daughter.  The older siblings were like zombies standing by, not knowing what to do next.  The woman came to me, asked me if I called.  I held my cellphone.  I gestured that I was Deaf, then I also signed that the cellphone was out of reach.  The police car came.  Someone in the area did.   The second police car also came.  I knew then they would have some more help coming in their way.  I waved to the woman, who knew I was about to leave, smiled back and thanked me for coming.  I walked back, hopped in my car, drove on.  I saw two ambulances passing by.  I was still amazed there were no broken bones, not much bleeding, and these five individuals were alive and walking, with little cuts.  I knew they would be very, very bruised and sore within a few hours after the accident.  I still don’t know how, why and what caused the van flip on the median.   Maybe the driver was distracted by something, didn’t pay attention to the road, or a tire blown out.  At least they were okay.  That counts.

IMG_0213

The accident on the median

I went through the sand storm. Came and went.  Another sand storm.  Came and went.  Again, came and went.  I noticed something on the right side, the storm was like 300 yards or something.  I still drove on the interstate.  I pulled up my Canon and clicked, clicked a few, maybe on a 50-mph drive until I got a good shot.  Off I drove with a 80 mph speed until….

IMG_0227-Edit

The twister

That one I didn’t know about!  It was a tornado picking up sand from the ground! I posted the picture on my “Wonders of Back Roads” Facebook page. Someone said he recognized it. He is living there close to the area.  My jaw dropped to the floor.  Wow.  It was a beautiful storm tunnel over there, the scene was fascinating.  I still don’t know how big it was but I guarantee you, it’s not a scary monster though.

I finally arrived to Roswell New Mexico after driving for four hours. I spent $5.27 on some tacos and a Monster.

 My scavenger hunt for the saucers, UFO and aliens was starting!!! 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in New Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

