White Sands National Monument

March 11, 2013

The sunrise had me at “hello” at 6:30 am, but I kept dozing until I felt something was heating on my body through the window around at 8ish.  I finally got up, peeking through the right-side window. Ah,  I realized that the big fat truck already left, leaving the sun blistering.  Turning left, the other big fat truck also left.  I was alone at the “island” on the parking lot. I got out of the car and saw most 18 wheelers left.   Cool.   I itched for a shower.  I turned on the engine, not wanting to walk to the store in the cold.  It was about 35 degrees outside. Forget it.  It was like 20 yards where I was at.   I drove there and parked in the front of Kent Kwik convenience store.  Inside, I smelt of bacon and I was suddenly hungry. I hadn’t eaten a real meal since I left Austin.  I ate a lot of turkey, crackers and cheese lunchables, handy with the spicy mustard bottle (of course it was a separate condiment so shut up.)  It’s like I couldn’t leave home without my card. I MUST have anything spicy on my food.  I was a bit tired of them already.  I wanted bacon!

I debated going to take a shower first or go straight to the cafe with my messy hair, my face dry, pretty disheveled.  I knew I was not a pretty sight so I picked a shower first.  The shower fee was $7.  I didn’t know what it looked like in the shower room.  The clerk showed me around. I was totally in awe.  There was a toilet, shower, sink, towels, soap and the hair dryer! It was clean and shiny.  Wow! I felt like a queen.  It was not the shitty camp shower stall that I first envisioned.  Yes!  I ran out and scrambled my bag out of the trunk, ran back into it.  I stayed there for an hour until my fingers became pruned.  I smelled good, felt clean, my hair pretty again, and my skin softened.  I was in h-e-a-v-e-n.  I was impressed with the shower and all.   I tossed my bag back in the trunk, smiling.

Ok, hello, bacon, I’m here!  The cafe was called the Rustic Cafe.  I saw people in there, many rednecks. Hmm.  Okay.  The waitress looked like she just woke up, straight from her trailer.  At least she was friendly, looked like 50, wait a minute,  I didn’t look 50, I couldn’t judge her looks, well a lot of wrinkles, white streaks spurting out of her dyed hair, her breath smelt of coffee and cigarette smoke. Ugh.  While I was uploading the previous day’s shoots on my laptop, I ate some eggs, bacon and buttered bread.  It was delicious!! It cost me $4.29 for the meal.  If you stop by in Alamogordo for some good breakfast, I recommend the Rustic Cafe despite of its dumps. Off I went with a Monster in hand, on the road to the white sands!

I got there at 11:30 am.  The parking lot was already packed in the office.  I looked around, asking for information.  I was instructed to go on the road where the booth was that I pay $3 for the admission.  Yes it was just a mere 3 dollars, I repeat, 3 dollars.   That was it.

Once I set my boots on the dunes, I was in awe.  You know it already from watching my video.  I spent my 3-hours worth, jumping, wandering, sledding (without a board) and go-pro’ing everywhere I saw fit.  In the beginning, it was about 49 degrees and I left the dunes, it was 63 degrees.  You could see my hooded sweatshirt gone later in the video.

DCIM101GOPRO

I tried to go back to my car, the first time, I was lost, into the wrong parking area on the right side, the second time, another wrong parking area on the left,  the third time, made it, and the fourth time, wrong again, on the left side…and the final time, got it right.  The dunes were pretty high. The cars were out of the sight until you go down from the dunes.  I followed people around, to be ensured that I was nearby, being safe.  I can imagine that I would be very lost during the night.  Wolves, snakes, scorpions, bugs…oh, I don’t want to think about it!

DCIM102GOPRO

The White Sands is one of the world’s great natural wonders – the glistening white sands of New Mexico. Great wave-like dunes of gypsum sand have engulfed 275 square miles of desert.   Check the link: http://www.nps.gov/whsa/index.htm

Blue Sand Small

I finally left around at 3ish after buying some stuff from the White Sands Trading store.  I bought the bracket and the scorpion magnet for my refridge. I was back on the road, not realizing that I was on the wrong way.  I turned on my GPS. Hot damn.  I had to make a U turn and I thought oh shucks I had to go through the patrol check-in station. ugh.  Once I was stopping in the check-in station, the patrol guard started to talk.  I gestured that I was Deaf.   He asked with the fingerspelling “you, U-S-A?”  I smiled big time.  I nodded.  He smiled and told me to go.   That was as simple as that.  Sweet!

Back to Alamogordo……there’s more to come….

My personal note to myself: The sands itself was very cool, very blue sky, and glistening sand that could blind your eyes.  I suggest you to bring your eyeglasses, sunscreen and boots!!  Why sunscreen?  It’s because the rays from the sand that could burn your face.  I didn’t realize it until I was in El Paso for a pee break.  My face was sort of a little red.  I could see the whites around my eyes from wearing my “mirror”  eyeglasses.

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in National Parks, New Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

