Alamogordo NM Road Attractions

IMG_0081 IMG_0084-Edit

Scrap Metal Roadrunner

The road runner is the state bird for New Mexico. This one was created out of scrap metal and it must be at least 20 feet tall.  Located at 6960 US Hwy 54-70 on the west side just north of US Hwy 82.  It is standing inside the scrap yard fence at Basin Pipe and Metal.

IMG_0089-2 IMG_0090-2

World’s Giant Pistachio Nut Sculpture

 The giant pistachio nut is a 30 ft. high sculpture built by Bar M Construction that contains five yards of concrete and is covered by about 35 gallons of paint. It’s anchored by thick concrete four feet in diameter and nine feet down, which prevents anyone from reclining on or riding the nut. However, nut hugging is still possible, and visitors will no doubt get creative with their pistachio snapshots. I wanted to hug the nut but I was alone. Sigh.  Anyway…the plaque at base honors the founder of Tree Farm, the late Tom McGinn, who was a big fan of roadside attractions.  I heard that the nut was blessed by a local priest.  McGinn’s Pistachio Tree Ranch is located at 7320 US Hwy 54-70. 

IMG_0086 IMG_0087 IMG_0085

 

Hollywood Rejects

I am not sure what it is for but I heard that this is a flea market somewhere on Hwy 54-70 called Hollywood Rejects that they can sell stuff for you.  I walked around, saw a lot of cool stuff that reminds me of Cathedral of Junk in Austin, Texas.  I didn’t stay there long.  I believe it is next to the Scrap Metal Roadrunner.  I was such in a hurry to drive to Big Bend National Park this afternoon. I didn’t pay attention what it was located at.  I think it’s a cool place to browse around.

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in New Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

