Marfa Stars

March 11, 2013

Taking off from Van Horn after gassing up, after maybe 10 minutes later, I screeched at a stop.  I was like 10 feet away from something.  It was a little fawn standing there.  The fawn stared at me from nowhere in the middle of the road.  I honked and honked.  The fawn didn’t move.  I think it froze from getting freaked out from the headlights. I don’t know.  All of the sudden, the mother came out, darting straight across the road, past the fawn.  The fawn FINALLY moved, ran after its mother.  They were out of sight, through the woods in the dark.  I started to drive slowly, hoping that I would not meet another fawn as stupid as the first one.

Continuing on Highway 90, I began to see the stars twinkling all over the sky.  I finally arrived to the Marfa Mystery Lights after one hour of driving quietly, thank god, there were no more fawns goading on the road.  I think I got there at 10:45 pm.

I got out of my car and I realized how cold, cold, I repeat, COLD it was at night!  However,  the stars were extraordinary awesome, a touch of a star close to my face, but no, it was not. It was extremely cold at 19 degrees.   I didn’t realize that it was located at the altitude of 4,688 feet high.  My teeth  and my fists clenched. I was frozen with just a hooded sweatshirt, jeans and shoes. I was not prepared but I managed to take a few shots before I ran back to my car to heat up and left. I stayed there probably for 30 minutes.  There was a pretty good crowd in the viewing platform. The parking lot
in the back was full with RV’s, SUV’s, big fat pick-ups and cars. I had to park over the grounds, not knowing if it was allowed but hey, other vehicles parked there already.  They were leaders, I was their follower.  There is low lighting, so you don’t lose your night vision, and restrooms. The wall of the structure helps block headlights from the road.

IMG_0166-Edit-2 IMG_0156-2Accounts of strange and unexplained phenomena just outside of Marfa began during the 19th century and continue to this day. Ranchers, Apaches, high school sweethearts and famous meteorologists alike have reported seeing seemingly sourceless lights dance on the horizon southeast of town, an area that is nearly uninhabited and extremely difficult to traverse. The mystery lights are sometimes red, sometimes blue, sometimes white, and usually appear at random throughout the night, no matter the season or the weather. While the source of the mystery lights is still a point of contention, the show goes on. The cynics will tell you that this so-called paranormal phenomenon is just the atmospheric reflections of cars and campfires at night. The mystics will tell you that’s hooey. Bring an open mind.Whether its real or hooey, the stars are, let’s say, amazing!  Go visit the Marfa Mystery Lights on the way on your destination to Big Bend National Park.Off to Big Bend National Park……well, I didn’t make it that night.  I was too tired.  I decided to park at the rest area.  It was totally empty.  It was about 10 minutes from Marathon.

Snoozing off at 1:15 am…..

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

