Road Attractions Back Home From Big Bend

March 13, 2013.  Rest Area. Near Bakersfield.

I was dead stone in the back of the car.  I didn’t feel cold or hot overnight.  I was exhausted.  I woke up at 9ish.  I felt the movements of trucks and cars whizzing on the left side by where my car was parked next to the restroom.  Boy, I had a hard time getting up, my poor bladder begging to be released.  Off I went.  I took some matters, washing my face, brushed my teeth, rearranged my hair and changed my shirt/undies you know.

I went outside, the sun basking in my face, and I let out a loud sigh.  How I loved the sun.  The vending machine was there.  I was surprised that they were selling Monsters. Yay!  I bought one.  Off I drove out of the rest area, drinking my low-cal Monster.  Back on I-10 East.

I reached Junction to check the Deer Horn tree.   It took me about 2 hours, 153 miles to get there.  I took the exit off I-10 to US 377 south….until I saw the tree on the left side.

The Deer Horn Tree

The Deer Horn Tree was launched in 1968 by Business and Professional Women in Junction, Texas where there is one of the state’s more popular areas for hunting. It is about 12 ft. high with deer antlers all over the tree. It is estimated that the county’s whitetail deer population is one animal for every 7.5 acres of land. The Deer Horn Tree is in small park next to The Hills Motel, on US-377, south of I-10.

IMG_0191-2

It looks like a Christmas tree, and during the holidays, an electric star is placed on top.

IMG_0195-2

I took  US 377 south onto TX 481 that led me to the short cut to get into the I-10 again.  A short while later, within 16 miles long,  I finally exited off to US 290, on the way to Fredericksburg.  I planned to camp at Enchanted Rock that night.   Once I got there in Fredericksburg after driving 41 miles, I turned left on RR 965 North.  It took 16 more miles to get there at the park.  But…..there were traffic already.   I thought it was a huge accident over there.  I saw the guy getting out of his truck, I waved, he came and I asked him what happened.  The guy pointed to the rock. I checked, oh my god, there were “ants” crawling all over the top of the rock.  I just realized that it was still Spring Break and there were so many campers going there too!  I bet campgrounds were crowded then.  I was too much too late.  I decided to ditch my camping plan and turned back to Fredericksburg.  On the way, I spotted the rooster….on the right side.

Big Metal Rooster

 It’s just a big, metal rooster on the side of the road. The rooster is a ten-foot-tall, three-colored out of scrap metal.  The rooster stands next to 8938 Ranch Road 965/North Milam Street and drive nine miles toward Enchanted Rock State Park.

IMG_0217-2 IMG_0219-2 IMG_0220-2

To my disappointment, I looked forward to be camping at the Enchanted Rock State Park and I knew I would have some amazing shots on the top of the rock during sunset.  Well, another time.

I went straight home.

IMG_0224

I saw this one on US 290 just before I went through Dripping Springs.

IMG_0229

Finally Home in One Piece!

I finally got home around 3ish. I practically threw my stuff out of the car, into the living room.  I felt so unbelievably dirty and exhausted.  I dropped the car to the rental company – one day early.   I came back home, took a long, long, hot shower I deserved!  I haven’t showered for two days.   I came out with my jammies, uploaded everything on my hard drive….and I went for a long coma on my beloved bed with warmth for the first time.

Awesome. Amazing. Adventurous. Unforgettable. 

I will do again in a heart beat! I know it.  It’s a question of when.

Thanks for reading my 5-day road-tripping photo blogs.  Until next time!

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

