The World’s Smallest Catholic Church-Warrenton, Texas

IMG_0128_29_30-Edit-2

The World's Smallest Catholic Church-Warrenton, Texas

IMG_0140_1_2-Edit

I was driving on the way home from Galveston on Hwy 71, I decided on the spur of the moment, off the highway onto Texas 237 to Warrenton, about 11 miles away. I heard about the smallest church about a year ago and I finally checked it out, off my bucket list.

I’m not that religious but the crosses and old churches never fail to fascinate me.

The church with the steeple looks like a tool shed if  it weren’t for the field of white headstones in the churchyard.  There is a small cemetery as well. I didn’t check the family graves. I understand that about 70 people buried  are still maintained in the grounds. The oldest known grave in the one-acre cemetery next to the church is of Jan Blaha, who was born in Moravia in 1826 and died in Texas in 1889.

I was in awe how beautiful it is inside. In its history to tell us, that around in 1915, the main church dismantled the Warrenton mission to build a school in Fayetteville. Using leftover lumber from the school project, parishioners built the 12-by-16-foot chapel where the original church once stood. Due to declining enrollment, the school built of salvaged lumber in Fayetteville was finally demolished in 1968. Many of the fixtures from the original church were transferred to the Warrenton chapel, including the altar, the church bell, and many of the statues. A large oil painting of St. Martin, the patron saint of soldiers, looks down on the six rows of 12 wooden pews that will seat about 20 people.

I hope you all will stop by and check it out one day. I promise it would be worth a trip to see, that can take you about 30 minutes to take a look around. 

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
Image | This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

