Ribbit, Ribbit Everywhere!

Rayne, Louisiana: The Frog Capital of the World

I decided to stop by to check some frogs in Rayne on the spur of the moment thing after I left from Baton Rouge.  The first thing I noticed is that sign that I find it funny.  It’s always a deer crossing but this one, ha-ha.

5642807a2d89f6d61e0a5ec681701d8c


Frogs and Rayne have a long history that dates back to the 1880s, when a gourmet chef named Donat Pucheu started selling, juicy delectable bullfrogs to New Orleans restaurants.  Word of Rayne’s frog delicacies spread like wildfire and soon attracted the Weil brothers from France, who started a lucrative business exporting frogs to restaurants.  Jacques Weil and his brothers started using “Frog Capital of the World” in their marketing information, once they learned that Sardi’s in New York boasted on their menus of offering “frog legs from Rayne, Louisiana, USA, Frog Capital of the World.”  The rest is history. 

IMG_1129Monsieur Jacques

IMG_1130 IMG_1131

It seems that the folks in Rayne not only have a whimsical sense of humor, but their vivid imaginations and creativeness are very much in evidence throughout the town in the form of 110 frog statues welcoming visitors to businesses throughout the town.  The further I went rollin’ on the road, I didn’t realize that there are as well as several murals decorating the blank brick walls of buildings in the town featuring … what else, but … FROGS!

IMG_1132 IMG_1133 IMG_1135 IMG_1139 IMG_1140

I didn’t have a lot of time huntin’ 110 frog statues all day long but there are a few good ones I took (as you see the pictures as above) while I was still driving…

Next time I come to Baton Rouge, I will definitely stop by and have my time shooting these frogs as much as I could, all day long.

Ribbit, ribbit……

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Louisiana and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

