Mission Peak | Fremont, California

 

I was excited like a girl in the candy store! My two friends, Becky and Kim and I went. The heat was burning.  Becky and Kim decided not to continue and they encouraged me to go on.   I always had the determination to finish it.  After maybe one mile of hiking, I thought I would quit several times even with a 1/4 mile left to go. The bicyclist signaled me to move on and finish it. He watched me struggling and he didn’t leave til I reached the top. The guy biked up there to meet me. he was excited I made it. I think we were at the same age group. He took two pics of me then left. I never knew his name.  Once I was on the top point like Simba, the Lion King, the winds were heavy but it was a nice breeze.

A lady reached the top too. She was crying out her eyes out. I was puzzled. Her guy told me that she went there nine times. Every time she failed. This time around, she made it. He said she was 500 pounds heavy. Now she weighs under 300. her guy smiled like 100 watts.  I could tell he’s super proud of her success.

I am happy I achieved the goal that I could able to check off my bucket list.  Note to myself: wait until the weather is cooler.  I wouldn’t mind going back again one day. I would need to take some pictures that would rock my boat.  This time, it was hard to bark after someone climbing to the pole to get out of my way and having a companion or two to come along for company as well, again, during the cooler weather!

IMG_5638

DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO DCIM100GOPRO

_MG_0030-3-2 DCIM100GOPRO

This is a very popular park, particularly on weekends, with hundreds of visitors attempting the 3-plus-mile hike to Mission Peak. About five hours are required to reach the summit and return. This parkland’s 3,000 acres are accessible from parking lots at Ohlone College (slightly longer hike, but more gradual ascent; plenty of parking on weekends) or from a small staging area at the east end of Stanford Avenue in Fremont (steep climb to the summit; parking lot is extremely congested on weekends). There is no access to the park from Mill Creek Road.

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in National Parks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

