Elvis Stopped by to see the Turbine Blade at the Lucille.

After hanging out at the Britten Leaning Water Tower,  I got on I-40 East, I suddenly had a change of plans again.  I always wanted to visit the Oklahoma City National Memorial. The Oklahoma City National Memorial is a memorial that honors the victims, survivors, rescuers, and all who were affected by the Oklahoma City bombing on April 19, 1995. The memorial is located in downtown Oklahoma City on the former site of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building,, which was destroyed in the 1995 bombing. This building was located on NW 5th Street between N. Robinson Avenue and N. Harvey Avenue.  After consulting with my friends on Facebook, I was set on going to Oklahoma City, Oklahoma instead of Irving, Texas for the Mustangs of Los Calinos after all.

IMG_8147_MG_0162-2I had to stop at the rest area in Erick once I entered Oklahoma border.  I went inside, looking for the women’s restroom. I looked up.  I thought, “WOW!”


IMG_7990IMG_7992

IMG_7991IMG_7994IMG_7993

Let’s say that I’m very impressed of their retro decor at the rest area. A large well-maintained facility that includes a Oklahoma Tourist Information Center. It’s very nicely furnished, but not onlyl that, they have even brass fittings on the stalls! I loved it!

_MG_0150-2

Elvis Stayed at the Motel

When Elvis Presley and his entourage drove from Memphis to Vegas, the best midway point was The Trade Winds Motel in Clinton, Oklahoma. The best room was Room 215. Elvis stayed there on four separate occasions. To preserve that memory, Trade Winds’ management has kept the room decorated the way it was during the Swingin’ Sixties. The suite contains a black Naughahyde fainting couch/Fold-A-Bed combo, green pile carpeting, and fixtures from a happy time gone by. The plaque on the door of Room 215 kept getting stolen, so there isn’t one anymore.

I haven’t checked the room myself.  I’m not a Elvis fan but I just came to check the motel just hell out of it.  If you are a Elvis fan, you can take a tour to see his room.

OKCLIelvisrm_scan1

Directions: Trade Winds Inn. Along I-40, directly across the highway from the Oklahoma Route 66 Museum. 2128 W. Gray Blvd.

By the way, Oklahoma Route 66 Museum is located across the motel.   I understand they have all the right nostalgia buttons, from its retro neon sign to a cherry-red ’57 Chevy in the front bay window to a restored vintage diner out back. Inside, a walk along the “Main Street of America” gives visitors a chance to look at old cars and old souvenirs and displays about old Route 66 places that don’t exist any more. I didn’t bother visiting the museum because I know I will come back next time when I plan my road trip from Santa Monica to Chicago one day.  Just check them out if you want to see some old memorabilia.

IMG_8008

Dozens (98 to be exact) of wind turbines gracefully turning in the breeze around Weatherford.

_MG_0163-2Another road attraction on I-40 – Weatherford Wind Energy Center – there is a turbine blade display that I’ve wanted to see the close-up! So I stopped by to check how big it was. The blade’s base is nearly as tall as I was.

_MG_0158-2 _MG_0159-2 _MG_0160-2

_MG_0161-2

It’s located at 522 W. Rainey Ave. Weatherford, Oklahoma. Southwest corner of town. In Heritage Park, across from City Hall. I-40 exit 80, drive north on Hwy 54 for almost a mile, cross the train tracks, then turn right onto Rainey Ave.

IMG_8015Hell yeah, winds were heavy – so there is no surprise that the road signs were bent backwards!

_MG_0167-2 _MG_0168-2 _MG_0169-2

Lucille’s Service Station, a classic and historic gas station along Route 66 near Hydro, is one of only two upper-story, out-thrust porch style stations left on Oklahoma’s stretch of Route 66.  Built in 1929 by Carl Ditmore, the service station was renamed by Provine Station in the 1930s.  In 1941, the Hamons family took over the operation of the station and Lucille Hamons, for which the service station is named, ran the business for 60 years.  Lucille, who quickly became known for her friendly assistance to motorists, earned the nickname “Mother of the Mother Road.”

There are more than these three road attractions I’ve visited but there was no time for me to roam around because I wanted to be there at the OKC National Memorial before it was closed.

Heading to Oklahoma City…..

Next blog….A Place of Hope and Memories

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Oklahoma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

