Run, Mustangs, Run!

Driving down on I-35 all the way to Irving, Texas from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, it took me about 3 hours to get there. I was hoping that I got there before the sunset and I did with success.

However, it was harder to find the The Mustangs of Las Colinas than I thought.  The information about the location never mentioned the name of the building, and that was worse when I drove by, there were orange barriers higher than I could see.  I drove on the street back and forth several times.  I gave up and looked for the parking.  Once I found the spot, I got out of my rental car and walked through a few buildings.  I couldn’t find the attraction.  I got inside of the building. There was a woman working in the office, looking at me like I was lost or something.  She said “hey what can I help you?”  She realized that I was Deaf and she pulled out some paper and pen.  Great.  I wrote down that I looked for the Mustangs forever.  She smiled and said the mustangs are there next to the building from the left where I stood at.  I ran over the building.   I got inside.  I saw the mustangs right outside!  The hallway had a lot of doors.  I tried to open the door to get outside, no, it was locked!  I walked fast hoping to find the door open.  The doors were all locked.  I was pretty disappointed and stared at the mustangs.  The sunset started to get down.  The security guard watched me looking at these beautiful sculptures from inside.  I felt stuck.  I felt a light tap and I looked to the right.  I looked right at his chest, looked up.  He was damn tall and big.   He started to speak to me, I shook my head….he realized oh…

The woman was standing from the back watching us trying to converse with gestures.  The security guard looked to the left, and the woman started to sign to me.  She could sign!  I explained to her that I came to get some pictures before I went ahead to go home in Austin.  I came from the long way from Oklahoma City.  The security guard smiled and looked around, hmm, 5 minutes?  I asked for 10 minutes.  He giggled and said ok.  He unlocked the door and let me out to take some pictures such in a hurry.

The pictures turned out okay.  I wish I could do better than that but its better than nothing.

I made it in 10 and I got back inside the building.  The security guard, the woman, and I exchanged our smiles.   The woman said I looked familiar.  I said I recognized her too but we couldn’t pinpoint where we met before, but we talked a little bit before we parted our ways.  The security guard disappeared into thin air before I wanted to thank him for letting me take pictures.  Oh well.

I left feeling accomplished.

When you want to visit these mustangs, the Mustangs of Las Colinas is located in East Tower at Williams Square Plaza. The name of the attraction is the Mustangs at Las Colinas, made by Robert Glen, in Irving, Texas. It is said to be the largest equestrian sculpture in the world.  The work was commissioned in 1976 and installed in 1984. The design created a shallow watercourse extending 400 feet  from northeast to southwest across Williams Square, a gently sloping granite-paved open space about 300 feet square. 

_MG_0217-Edit-Edit-3 _MG_0222-Edit-7 _MG_0229_HDR-2 _MG_0241_2_3-Edit-2 _MG_0244-2-2 _MG_0232_3_4-Edit-2

5221 North O’Connor Road #110E
Irving, TX 75039

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

