Brenham Ghost Town

IMG_0014-Edit-Edit-Edit-2

I stopped by before heading out to Austin. I had been passing over too many times.  I always wanted to check it out and I haven’t had an opportunity until last night.  It indeed is an abandoned building.  The sign said “no trespassing” and well, you know me, I trespassed anyway.  I was careful, not stepping on anything or rattlesnakes. I brought my headlights on.  It has never been mowed at all.  I saw the huge spider on the web hanging on the limb without disturbance from me.  I realized I was too close to try a picture.  I went out of the front yard, back on the street.  I found a perfect spot on the corner.  It’s creepy though.

I stopped at the gas station, asking the cashier if she knew anything about this ghost town. All I learned a little what it was about.

Mr. Winkelman moved the buildings on to the property from different areas around Texas. He wanted to make it a town for  bed and breakfast and little cafes. The area never took off due to family issues. It is inhabited by squatters now and the land is owned by a person in California.

When I got home, I googled to get more information and there were so little.  That’s all I know as I mentioned above.

Approximately 5 miles East of Brenham, on eastbound side of US 290. At the intersection of US 290 and Indian Paint Brush Road.

d Chapel Hill, TX.

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. Graduated at Gallaudet University, I've worked at Texas School for the Deaf for 20 years. Being a single mother of one college-aged daughter and a deaf high school son, I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot. I'm involved with SportsMx being a sports photographer also.
This entry was posted in Southeast Texas, Texas Attractions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

