Texas Chainsaw Massacre Gas Station – 2003 Remake

IMG_0036This is the original building from the scenes in the 2003 production of Texas Chainsaw Massacre featuring the creepy gas station. It is still just as creepy, especially at night. During the day it is an operating general store/country diner called Cele Store.  The building was originally built in 1891, as the Richland Saloon. It’s a little out in the country but only about 35-40 minutes from downtown Austin.

I drove here from Houston to check the building that was used in the movie.  I admired the building and its history from what I learned.  I was glad I was there to see it at 1:30 AM.  Yes it was during twilight hours that I was hoping to catch the Milky Way.  No it didn’t happen because the clouds were hovering over.

I reached the two lane country road meanders through picturesque farmland. If you’re not careful, you may miss the dilapidated structure that looks like a place history forgot to demolish. The warped, ruffled and rusty tin roof doesn’t hide its age, nor does the weathered and beaten gray wood siding.

Since 1951, it’s been owned by the same family, who built a BBQ pit that churns out delicious ribs, brisket and sausage. You won’t find glassware (other than beer bottles) and the dishware is low maintenance, plastic. Don’t expect a menu, either. They like to keep things simple. In addition to meat and tangy, homemade BBQ sauces, you can order pickles, onions and cheddar cheese. Because they don’t offer traditional sides, you’re welcome to bring your own. The table next to mine had bowls filled with potato salad and green beans, along with a birthday cake. And while Cele Store does serve bottles of beer and soda in cans, if you want hard liquor or wine, you’re welcome to bring them, too.

Another 21st century item you won’t find here: credit cards. Leave them at home because this old-fashioned establishment only accepts two forms of payment: cash and check.

Check their website: http://www.celestore.com/

The location is at 18726 Cameron Rd, Manor, TX 78653

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. Graduated at Gallaudet University, I've worked at Texas School for the Deaf for 20 years. Being a single mother of one college-aged daughter and a deaf high school son, I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot. I'm involved with SportsMx being a sports photographer also.
This entry was posted in Southeast Texas, Texas Attractions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

