Hey You, Creatures!

I just subscribed AllTrails once again.  The last time I subscribed it was like 5 years ago.  I was not really active in these Austin parks then.  Now I do.  Before I start my road tripping adventures in the Fall (hopefully).  When I was in Whole Foods to get my favorite soup, New England clam chowder that I couldn’t live without.  I will miss my soup when I leave Austin.  Anyway, I snooped to see where the parks were nearby on my iPhone.  Stephenson Preserve Trail is something that I never heard of.  The curiosity got to me.  It was about 9 minutes away from where I was  at.

I didn’t have any plans that afternoon so it was perfect for me to browse what’s in this small park.  There was a parking lot in front of the playground where parents enjoy their time while their kids play.

The park was at the Cherry Creek subdivision on William Cannon Drive and Westgate Blvd.  I decided to eat my soup there.  There were some picnic tables so I could sit and enjoy the nature as well.

After I was done with my lunch, I decided what the hell to take a hike….

IMG_5125

The beginning.  Yes, the trail at the start here is paved and not particularly interesting. Where possible, head to the north onto the packed dirt paths to get to the preserve.


IMG_5124-Edit

The long pathway but I cut my hike going to the different trail that were more rough and unpaved.

IMG_5127

I noticed something from my left.

IMG_5128-Edit

The sign.  I went ahead to check it out.  I am not sure what it was about.

IMG_5139-Edit

After 20-25 minutes of hiking, I was surprised with the delight to see the wood sculpture.  It was in the middle of nowhere in the park.  I took my admiration of the thing. Someone must be in the neighborhood taking time to build this one like this.  I loved it.  I decided to see if there were any more of it.  I continued my hike..

IMG_5142

Geez, I hated that.   I just randomly chose which way to go at the many trail intersections which I should continue my hike that can either lead to great adventure or confusing frustration, depending on your attitude.

IMG_5143

Too many trails to pick out, look at this.  I bet mountain bikers are riding through them. It is extremely easy to get lost with all of the criss-crossing trails, so a GPS receiver with tracking enabled is a good idea.

IMG_5362

A little pond…no alligators, sorry.

IMG_5364

Charming, enchanting forest with magical mystical winding roads where you’ll meet some art pieces as well as a land nymph made of barbed wire. Often the colors and the terrain changes and there are many forks but beware of the forest trolls who live in the caves. Avoid the golden path into the ethereal space or you’ll be lost forever.

IMG_5365

Stones balance.

IMG_5369 IMG_5373 IMG_5378 IMG_5380-Edit IMG_5385

These art pieces led me into the street of Eganhill and Harleyhill.  I noticed a lot of art pieces following to the house.

IMG_5393IMG_5389

The bearded guy was working on his new art piece in his garage.  I was brave enough to come to him, looking at his amazing art inside the garage.  He realized that I couldn’t hear him. I had to make sure he understood that I was Deaf.  He introduced himself to me.  His name is Dale Wood.  He was very very friendly and excited to show me around what he did with his pieces.  I was totally in awe.  We talked some time.  I liked him a lot.  When I told him that I was going to write a blog about him and his art pieces, I asked him for the permission to acknowledge him and his talents.  He said YES!

IMG_5418-Edit

I asked him if we could take a picture together.  He was more than obliged to come and say cheese to my iPhone. I feel honored to meet Dale Wood.  If you are interested to see his amazing art, contact Dale at  delvis@earthlink.net. You will LIKE him!

After I left to continue my hike, I found more art pieces on the way back.

IMG_5395 IMG_5396-Edit IMG_5399 IMG_5402 IMG_5403 IMG_5405 IMG_5411-Edit-EditIMG_5419-Edit-Edit-Edit

Stephenson Preserve Nature Park is awesome because of its show of art pieces that made me a happy hiker!!

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in All About Austin Snapshots, Austin, Texas City Parks, Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

