Salado Sculpture Garden | Salado, Texas

While I was looking for Sirena the Indian Mermaid,  I just drove through the roads looking for some vintage stuff at the houses and businesses, admiring the old feeling look.  I happened to spot the sculpture garden.  I had to stop by and take a look.   Sirena was still in my mind so I was looking for her there at no avail.  However, the art in the garden were fascinating.  All of the pieces are created by Salado artists and other local community members.  The park was really inviting with its open space and an easy path for you to walk on as you made your way through the garden. We can have the opportunity to touch the art and take those photos, or even sit down in the park and have a picnic with family.

The Sock Monkey | Joe Barrington that greets you when you first walk in.

Marvin the Moose | Johnny Shipman

Handicapped Mask | Troy Kelley

QR Code | Troy Kelley

I have to apologize that I hadn’t taken some pictures of the artist’s name and titles of each sculpture. Many of the pieces are for sale – granted many of them can cost $5,000, $7,500 and even up to $25,000. But from reading the artist’s title and thinking how this piece can pertain to your life  whether it makes you think of something to remind you of. You can experience the park so much more when you realize how special these pieces can be.

I visited for approximately 45 minutes  that was adequate time to appreciate the sculptures. After spending time at the garden, I had to go to the place to ask the employee where Serina was. I learned that Serina the Indian Mermaid was sculpted by Troy Kelley!   I was given some paper instructions where to locate her.  I went off hunting.

You can follow the “Legend of Serina”……

Salado Sculpture Garden is located on the north side of Salado at 113 Salado Plaza Drive.  It is open every day and free to the public.

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

