The “Crossroads” Gazebo | San Marcos, Texas

Crossroads Memorial Sculpture (Really a Gazebo!)

San Marcos, Texas has a special relationship with LBJ. Lyndon Baines Johnson moved here to begin his studies in San Marcos in 1927 and received a bachelor of science in history and a permanent high school teaching certificate in 1930. He became the 36th President of the United States in 1963 making Texas State University the only college in Texas to have graduated a U.S. President.

I went looking for the sculpture.  I drove around, not realizing that it was a gazebo in the corner of two streets that I kept missing until I finally parked on the corner on the  South Lyndon Baines Johnson Drive/Hwy 82 and East Martin Luther King Jr Drive .  I got out of my car and looked right at the gazebo.  Ah, it was there all the way right under my nose!  I have to admit that it’s different, creative and beautiful than I saw on the roadside attractions webpage.

After taking office, LBJ pledged support for President Kennedy’s civil rights agenda. Fifty years ago on January 18, 1964, he met with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. in the Oval Office to discuss civil rights strategy.

And on July 2, President Johnson signed the Civil Rights Act of 1964, just 8 months after taking office. The far-reaching law included provisions to protect the right to vote, guarantee access to public accommodations, and withhold federal funds from programs administered in a discriminatory fashion.

And in August 1965 the continued collaboration between Dr. King and President Johnson resulted in the Voting Rights Act.

The sculpture, by Aaron Hussey, casts a shadow of the two men on the tiny corner plaza as the sun moves across the sky every day. It was unveiled with the title, “Crossroads” on MLK Day 2014.  Hays County donated the land the piece sits on, The Crossroads Committee raised $7,000 for the art and The City of San Marcos $100,000.

 

About christy

I'm a freelance photographer. I love creating visual eye candy, be it my digital artwork or photography. More often than not, it turns out to be a combination of both. Whatever catches my eye, I shoot, specializing in landscapes, sports and portraits." Hailed from the Texas-born Baton Rouge, Louisiana residence, my photography was always my hobby, off and on, when time permitted. I had itched for a big change. I bought my first DSLR camera, I found myself falling back into photography again, and I've decided to pursue it full-time. I am specializing in landscapes however my interests are in the horizon into family portraits, senior portraits, sports, events and whatever catches my eye, I shoot.
This entry was posted in Roaming Every Corner, Texas, Weird Roadside Attractions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

